My Grail: Air Jordan VI (6) “Motorsport”

grail

/grāl/
Noun
  1. (in medieval legend) The cup or platter used by Jesus at the Last Supper, and in which Joseph of Arimathea received Christ’s blood at…
  2. A thing that is earnestly pursued or sought after.

Everyone has their own definition of a grail, but the second definition above is how I define a grail. That being said, the grail I’m writing about is the Air Jordan VI (6) Motorsport. This sneaker was released to commemorate Michael Jordan’s motorcycle racing team.

Released in 2010 as a quickstrike, I wanted a pair very badly but at that time I didn’t have the access to get them. I looked all over for about a year and a half before I gave up. They were out there, but I didn’t want to pay what resale was at that time.

motorsports-air-jordan-6-vi-shoes-bike

Fast forward to 2012.

In 2012, I came across a pair on NikeTalk for $150 shipped. It was worn 1x and was a B-Grade from a Nike Outlet, but I couldn’t have been happier.

20130821-172534.jpg

 

After that, the flood gates opened and I somehow ended up with this:

image-3

 

There is no difference between my big-box store pairs and my b-grade pair. One was sold (size 12), but the rest are my size (11) and will be here to stay. The Air Jordan VI (6) Motorsport may not be an iconic sneaker like the Black/Red 1s, Cement 4s, etc. but it is a classic. The outsoles are really what set me off. I can’t stand clear outsoles, I know I’m in the minority, but I love the Jordan 6. Because of that I stayed away from buying any colorways of the model and hated the fact that I had to miss out on Infrareds, Carmines, etc. That outsole, paired with the elephant print and premium materials, make this sneaker the best colorway of the Air Jordan VI (6). Yea I said it, you don’t have to agree.

image-3 copy

 

The quality is ridiculous and these are easily the best-quality release from JB since they dropped (excluding Banned 1s). If you don’t have a pair I highly suggest getting one no regardless of price, you won’t regret it.

About nicoatienza

http://www.about.me/nicoatienza

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Collection Highlight: Midwest Sole (Brad) | Midwest Sole | Online Sneaker Magazine - August 31, 2013

    […] I was bored tonight and couldn’t sleep, so I decided to write an article highlighting some of the sneaker in my collection that I liked enough to buy multiples of (excluding the Motorsport 6 which has it’s own article here). […]

Leave a Reply

