Kixpo 2013 Recap (Part 1)

One of the things I was looking forward to with moving to Texas was greater access to the sneaker community. The annual “Kixpo” event snuck up on me in the midst of settling down in my new town and I was very happy to be able to attend. I’ve been in the game for a little while now but this was going to be my first sneaker show ever. I’ve read and seen videos of shows like this, but it sure doesn’t beat being there in person. The event this year was in the Irving Convention Center in Irving, TX, a suburb in North Dallas. I didn’t quite know what to expect! All I knew was there were going to be kicks everywhere, literally everywhere. If you look down, left, straight, right, kicks! I arrived and walked into the main hall on the ground floor to what I can best describe as a bazaar of sorts. There were booths everywhere, music blaring and the voice of the MC in the air. The sensory overload was just beginning.

I came to Kixpo without an agenda in mind and I certainly didn’t come to purchase anything. Strictly window shopping and information gathering for this guy! After my head stopped spinning from the sensory overload, I decided that combing through the aisles of sneaker displays was the most logical course of action. I made my way through the aisles and there were sneakers, both old and new, rare and general release for everyone to see. Recognizable names like SneakerSt, 23Penny, The Heat Check, Franalations, Shoepreme, JStar25 could be spotted on the show floor and it was a kick (like what I did there?) to meet the person behind the persona. There were also up and coming vendors promoting their latest products and brands. It was evident that the sneaker culture is certainly spawning off new sub cultures, such as the growing custom socks industry (shouts out to Rock ‘Em Apparel) and many others that embody and compliment the thriving sneaker culture at large.

At the end of the day, it’s all about the sneakers and there were some real gems on the show floor. The highlight of my day was the Air Jordan BIN collection display featuring the entire collection. I had yet to see the full collection in person up until that point and I had to pick my jaw up off the floor a few times whilst gawking at this beautiful display. I even recall one event goer saying “Man, they got the BINs? All of them? That’s where they all went”. I also ran into a few upcoming releases in person after only seeing online images of them previously. I recall a table that had the upcoming 3Lab5 Jordan V “Elephant Print” and the entire Air Jordan “Fear” pack on deck. Sneakerheads are going to go nuts when they hit retailers! It was also great to see that Air Forces Ones aren’t dead. It is certainly alive and kicking with vibrant colorways and designs on some AF1 models on display paying a great homage to the iconic sneaker.

To be continued.. Look out for Part 2 of this series coming up soon!

@NicoAtienza

About nicoatienza

http://www.about.me/nicoatienza

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

