AF1 2012

I was talking with Swoboda earlier and he mentioned the Supreme AF1’s . Since I’ve really been getting back into AF1’s I decided to make a PERSONAL top 5 AF1 list of 2012. Again, this is my PERSONAL list, and yes it does include GR’s; but not everything I like is limited. Nike kind of seems to be attempting an AF1 revival, as I remember more great colorways this year than the past couple years. Check out my top 5 below……….. and I’m cheating by using the Supreme x AF1 even though there’s no date and pics were just leaked.

Honorable Mention

Nike AF1 High “USA”

If these didn’t have a translucent outsole, these would have easily made my list. I don’t do translucent outsoles unless they are colored, and yes I miss out on a lot of great sneakers because of it.

#5

Nike AF1 High “Pine Green”

Yes, this sneaker is readily available. But it is also the only sneaker I can see myself wearing that contains this much green. The black accent on the swoosh makes it pop and almost has a 3D effect to me. The white midsole, swoosh, and laces are the perfect way to offset the all green upper, sock liner, strap, and outsole.

#4

Nike AF1 High “London”

Inspired by the Olympic Summer Games, this sneaker just reminds me of some Vandals I always loved. If you just heard about the colorway without seeing the sneaker, you might think a silver swoosh is too much, but I think it looks great.

#3

NIKEiD AF1 Elephant Print Option

Unfortunately, I missed out on the elephant print option that was temporarily offered for the Nike AF1 High iD, and it’s one of only a couple sneakers I wanted that I missed out on in 2012. The pair shown above isn’t bad, and I think I may have actually used that exact sneaker, but changed the swoosh to a “New Green” or “Soar Blue” color and the outsole to a solid white.

#2

Nike AF1 Low Supreme “Year of the Dragon”

The midsole is what makes this entire sneaker for me. I’m not sure why, but I love how  white midsoles look sitting on white outsoles. The materials are crazy and the details are subtle, but when you see them they pop.

#1

Supreme x Nike AF1

These sneakers have not released and haven’t even been given a date yet. And no, my personal hype for these kicks is not based on the fact that it’s a collab with Supreme, although that is definitely an added bonus. My personal hype is because of the following: Navy x White x Gum Bottoms. End of story.

About nicoatienza

http://www.about.me/nicoatienza

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

